Daniel Goodwin

Smug work-life balance point

Local government types might know that a few weeks ago I was in a profile piece in the Local Government Chronicle. One of the questions I was asked was what show or performance I would most like to see. I said Dave Brubeck, playing Take Five in a club in New York. I assumed that would never happen.

Dear reader, I was wrong. I write this from my hotel bar, just off Times Square, having returned from the Blue Note in Greenwich Village. Dave Brubeck (aged 90) and his quartet played a fantastic improvised set, which ended with Take Five, AND we took the A Train home.

If you’ll forgive an avuncular paragraph, the moral of this tale is always to try and plan the space between activity that makes life worth living. Whatever does it for you, make it happen somehow, and try and avoid smug notes that might irritate people.

2 comments on “Smug work-life balance point

  1. Simon McDonald
    June 17, 2011

    Oh, that’s brilliant. I really ought to think about the thing I would most like to do – and then go and do it!

    (Probably means going to the US to hunt down Chip Taylor…)

  2. maryerhope
    September 26, 2011

    Be careful what you wish for.. the mind has a sneaky… no clever way of enbaling it to happen!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
